Reviews


There’s a growing number of wonderful reviews online, on
Amazon, Waterstones and Goodreads, but here are a few examples:

 
 
For BETWEEN THE CROSSES:

Book 2’s 1st Review! – LoveReading Sept 5th 2016

Shots Review! – Shots Crime & Thriller Ezine October 2016

 
 
For IF I SHOULD DIE:

My 1st Review! – Crime Fiction Lover May 2014

Brilliant Review! – OOdals June 2014

National Review! – Sunday Times June 2014

A Writer’s Review! – Goodreads December 2014

A Soldier/Journalist’s Review! – Crime Review March 2015

A Review that nails it! – Raven Crime Reads October 2015

 
‘A gripping murder story … Frank brilliantly maintains a balance between the demands of a complex plot and his character’s difficulty in returning to civilian life … an accomplished first novel.’ (Sunday Times)

‘Quite simply the best start to a new crime series – and the best debut – I’ve read in years. Joe Stark is such a terrific hero, full of flaws and compassion and the sort of quiet heroism that you rarely see these days, even in fiction. One of those books I want to bulk buy and press into the hands of everyone I know. The writing is top-notch, the action sequences are superlative, the characters crackle off the page and the dialogue whips and zings like bullets in the dust. Read it!’ (Sarah Hillary – bestselling author of Someone Else’s Skin (Winner of the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015) and No Other Darkness)

‘Well researched and totally convincing, this is the first of several Stark books. Great news if they’re as good as this!’ (Sunday Mirror)

‘Skilfully plotted, with a great clarity of style. I really enjoyed it.’ (Alison Joseph – bestselling author and Chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association)

‘Truly one of the most well-plotted and compelling crime thrillers I have encountered this year… Highly recommended.’ (Raven Crime Reads)

‘A very powerful novel. The writing is so good that it is difficult to believe that this is a debut.’ (New Books Magazine)

‘Detective Sergeant Fran Millhaven is just one of the best women copper characters you’ll ever meet between the covers of a book . . . but Stark is the heart of this narrative. I am so looking forward to meeting him again . . . the moment Stark crosses over from soldier to CID detective is beautiful to behold. The action scenes, too, are terrific. Riveting!’ (Dana Stabenow – bestselling author of A Cold Day for Murder)

‘A highly assured debut … we’ll look forward to the next.’ (Crime Fiction Lover)

‘A great debut introducing an unusual lead character – I’m looking forward to reading more in the series – 5*s.’ (Novel Heights)

‘Brilliantly written.’ (Oodals Blog)

‘Well recommended.’ (Eurocrime)

‘Very strong. Very well written.’ (Crime Squad)